Where Clients Come First

Phone

419-581-9633

Reckless Operation in Ohio

The Ohio Revised Code defines reckless operation as operating in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of another or their property. Reckless operation basically results from operating a vehicle in an unsafe manner.

Reckless OpThe penalties for reckless operation in Ohio vary depending on the number of previous offenses. A first reckless operation offense is a minor misdemeanor. A minor misdemeanor can result in a fine of up to $150 along with other sanctions the Court deems appropriate but does not carry the penalty of a jail sentence. A second offense reckless operation or other traffic charge within one year is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. A fourth degree has a maximum fine of $250 and a maximum jail sentence of 30 days. A reckless operation after having two previous traffic offenses within one year is a misdemeanor of the third degree with a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum jail sentence of 60 days.

If you have been charged with a reckless operation, contact a licensed Ohio attorney immediately as the offense could lead to fines and a jail sentence. To contact Yates Law Office, LLC click here to be directed to the Contact page.