Where Clients Come First

Phone

419-581-9633

Driving Under Suspension in Ohio

With children, employment, medical appointments, and other daily commitments, the ability to drive is essential.  For some types of jobs such as traveling sales and commercial driving not having a valid license means not having a job.  When a driver’s license is suspended by the Court or the BMV it is difficult to know where to start.  Driving under suspension usually stems from a previous license suspension from an OVI, failure to pay child support, or other offense.  

Penalties for Driving Under Suspension in Ohio

Ohio treats driving under suspension as a serious offense and criminal in nature.  The offense is a first degree misdemeanor with maximum penalties of up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.  Other penalties may also include an additional suspension along with immobilization of your vehicle or even forfeiture if you have a past history of driving under suspension.  

If You Have Been Charged with Driving Under Suspension in Ohio

First, refrain from driving as accumulating additional charges during a pending case is never in your best interests.  An attorney may be able to get you limited driving privileges that would allow you to travel to work, medical appointments, and Court appearances. If you have been charged with driving under suspension, contact a licensed Ohio attorney immediately to discuss your situation.  To contact Yates Law Office, LLC, click here to be directed to the Contact page.